How are Ontario’s strong mayors flexing the new powers that the Ford government granted them?

The province granted expanded powers to 46 municipalities since 2022, giving mayors in places such as Ajax, Brampton, Hamilton, Markham, Niagara Falls, Oshawa, Vaughan and Waterloo the ability to veto bylaws, prepare budgets as well as to hire and fire senior bureaucrats.